Shrimp Enchiladas

image

I’ve really been craving some Mexican food so I decided to make shrimp enchiladas tonight. I had a bag of small, frozen 60-80 raw shrimp that I thawed out & seasoned with paprika, Mexican chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, salt & pepper.

I preheated the oven to 400 degrees and put the shrimp on a lined baking sheet & roasted them for about 15 minutes.

While that was going, I sautéed diced onions (1 1/2 small onions total) and poblanos (1 poblano total) in butter until the onions became slightly translucent.

I made the cream sauce by making a roux (about 3 tbs. butter and 1/8 cup of flour) and cooking it until smooth. Then I added 1/3 cup of sour cream (don’t worry if you dont like sour cream, you can’t even taste it!) and whisked it in.

I made some chicken broth with 2 cubes of chicken bouillon and 2 cups of water and added approximately 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth to the sour cream/roux mixture and simmered until thickened, then I added a handful of shredded Mexican cheese & stirred it in.

I assembled the enchiladas using corn tortillas & covered them in the sour cream sauce. I threw some cheese over the top & baked them at 350 for about 15 minutes.

Easy, delicious dinner for two!

Note: chicken can be substituted for the shrimp and it is still delicious. I’m sure it could also be made with just cheese and veggies for a vegetarian version, I just haven’t tried it. 😉

Leave a Reply

